This is an ode –
To those who now feel like home,
In this strange city;
With even stranger people
I will search for you,
Till the ends of this realm and the next
If I were to lose you –
I’d be, somewhere
Not sane –
Doing things I shouldn’t
(Not that I already don’t)

Remember,
There’s this quote I read –
“Friends are chosen family”
And there’s nothing I won’t do for my family
Oh,
Did I mention –
God save those who cross or harm my family
Hell hath no fury
(With a smile and your blood)

You’d wonder why I’d go so far?
“There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends.
I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature”

To this ode,

You have my thanks
And gratitude in double
Or as I’d rather put it –
“I cross my heart, and I hope to die”
(Not really, just figuratively –
If and when I were to lose you gems of people)

Here’s to more summers spent among beer
Winters drowned in smokes
Spring among the lilies
And autumn under the falling leaves
Evenings – laughing, at the beach
Nights under the stars
And days scribbling on the back pages
Gathering – memories and laughs
And the sparkle in the eyes and the crooked smiles
Weekends – discovering this town and,
A bit of our lost self’s

This is an ode –
To people I love
In this strange city
With even stranger people

Thank you,
For being – Home.

 

 

